Friday Flashback… Month in Review

This morning I woke up at 5:30AM and I thought to myself… Wow, that month went by pretty fast! Is it really the last day of March? Where did all the time go?

This is going to be my first Round Up/Friday Flashback! Just kind of a personal reflection of all the highlights of the week, but this one will be the whole month because I have a lot of things to be thankful for. Its always good to reflect and remind yourself of your particularly good experiences. Like a virtual gratitude journal!

So first on the list will be the first weekend of March! I did an Office Yoga Teacher Training, with Maryam Sharifzade, of Office Yoga in San Francisco and one of my yoga teachers at Fitness SF, and Lauren Coles, of Daisy Yoga in New York City. We were kind of the test group for the training, but it is an incredibly in-demand business in need of more yoga teachers that know what they’re doing with this specific clientele. More and more companies want to improve the quality of life and health of their workforce. Yoga is the perfect solution. These office yoga companies will come to your office and offer employees anywhere from 30 minutes to an hour of yoga suited to people working at a desk all day. It would be a regular yoga class, on mats in a cleared out room, it could be conference table yoga/ desk yoga, or it could be an easy no-sweat, no-change class. Check out my article on Maryam’s blog to see some of the convincing reasons why yoga could improve longevity for office workers here.

The next little adventure was my amazing trip to Napa with My Aunt Joanne and Uncle Ryan (yes, before my second trip this month with my parents and sisters). My Aunt Joanne is literally my best friend. There is never not a smile on my face when I am with her. She helps to remember that life is short and should be indulgent every once in a while. She gets my creative juices flowing.

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 2.56.36 PMThe two of us at Hog Island Oysters at Oxbow Market, Down Town Napa, in our natural state.
FullSizeRender
At Opus One for this lovely lady’s Birthday =)

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 3.07.51 PM
And just so you know how truly short I am. This is in front of the Domaine Carneros chateau.

Of course then my parents, sisters, Uncle Matt, and Aunt Dara came to visit and we visited Napa/ Sonoma once again. You can read about that amazing trip here.

The next Friday after I got back from my second trip to Napa, I was invited to teach at an event called Day Breaker. Day Breaker is a pre-work, sober dance party aimed at bringing together a community of healthy, fun, adventurous, like-minded people to get their groove on, release a bit of happy hormones, and maybe even work up a sweat before the work day even starts. It was hosted at The Great Northern Dance Club, right around the block from Fitness SF’s SOMA location, which was celebrating it’s 20th anniversary! The event’s theme was Fitness SF’s anniversay, but also female empowerment and sisterhood. When I got asked to teach this amazing group of about 70 people at 6:00AM before a huge dance party with female circus performers,  DJ’s, musicians, and break dancers (and free coffee), of course the answer was going to be a big YES!!!

IMG_6111IMG_5986IMG_6105IMG_5988
Teaching Day Breaker’s pre-dance party yoga class at The Great Northern

This week was a whole bunch of checks off the old SF Bucket List, including two brunch places, Outerlands on Sunday morning, and Mission Beach Cafe on Thursday, as well as a new coffee shop, Contraband Coffee Nob Hill! And just so you know why I have been dying to go to Outerlands so badly for so long, why it is listed as one of San Francisco’s top brunch spots, and why we had to wait 40 minutes in line to get a seat, here is a picture of their amazing dutch pancake, eggs in jail, and some really good Bloody Mary’s!

Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 3.25.26 PM

What an amazing week/ month gone! Hopefully a fruitful month to come! One more month till I move back to New York! My home is calling, but I have to make the best of it while I am out there!

CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

