Detox Beverage

So this week I’m starting to detox. It is going to be a two week process, this first week being more of a soft start. There are still some things in my fridge and cupboard that I have to finish up before I move home. But I just feel that since I have two weeks left and my pantry is thinning out and I have a little more time on my hands, I want to give the body a little scrubbing from the inside out. Also, when I go home my sisters and I are going to Atlanta for a music festival and I wanna look GOOD! I see it as a summer prep detox.

I have been feeling a little blocked up, energy wise. a little loss of inspiration and a little stagnation before a whole bunch of good and exciting things happen. Do you know that feeling? I just feel like I need a little cleanse. That all starts with a morning Detox Beverage! (you can read about the other things I do during a detox here) Really there is nothing like starting your day with a beverage that will not only hydrate you but that also has anti- bacterial, anti-inflammatory, and alkalizing properties.

img_1223-e1493060205203.jpg

When I drink this every morning, my skin glows, clear and free from blemishes. I feel lighter and energized and clean. There is really nothing like it!

Apple Cider Vinegar has so many benefits. Since Hippocrates it has been used as a disinfectant for wounds because of it’s anti bacterial properties. The fermentation process turns apples into acetic acid, which is the active substance in ACV, making it full of good bacteria, protein strands, and live enzymes. It is also known to lower blood sugar and insulin sensitivity. Turmeric and ginger are have known anti-inflammatory properties as was as having potent antioxidants. The flavonoids in citrus fruits are known to help protect your cells from damage as well as help blood circulation and insulin sensitivity. The kick from the cayenne helps boost your metabolism. Raw honey is supposedly good for your immune system.

Morning Detox Beverage

Ingredients:

2 Cups Water
1 1-inch  knob of turmeric grated
1 1-inch knob of ginger grated
1 Teaspoon of raw honey (or more if you need it)
Dash of cayenne
1/2 Cup of Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar
Juice from 1/2 a Lemon

Boil the water. Combine the Turmeric, Ginger, Honey and Cayenne in a jar. When the water is ready, pour it into the jar and let steep.

When the mixture has sat for a little add the Apple Cider Vinegar and the Lemon Juice.

Drink, or place in the fridge. In the morning you can add the tonic to some hot water to sip. I like to juice 1/2 a grapefruit and add it to that!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Detox Beverage

Leave a Reply

