Friday Flashback… A Little About Me & Accepting Yourself Where You’re At

So this week was a big week for one reason and one reason only. For those of you who know me, you know that I am an Opera Singer. For those of you that do not know me, here is my story: When I was a wee teenager, I attended a high school with a performing arts institute. Originally I wanted to major in acting, but I also was accepted into the voice major, and after my freshman year I had to decide between the two. To most people’s surprise, I chose voice. That is where I was introduced to opera, my life has never been the same.

I guess I always wanted to be a performing artist. As a child I was put into piano lessons, my older sister had voice lessons and I was always bitterly jealous. In elementary school I did musical theater. In high school I majored in voice and played piano in the jazz band. Then in college I double majored my first year and then went full on into getting a Bachelors of Music. I graduated a year ago from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music with my Master’s of Music and then stayed out here for an extra year to study with my insanely amazing teacher Jane Randolph, who has inspired me in so many ways to discover who I am, what is in my heart, and manifest it into real life, all through the process of learning how to sing. Because anyone who has really pursued an education in singing can tell you, it is the most intimate, spontaneous, and organic experience you will ever have with yourself, EVER, in your entire life.

Anyway, the reason this week was a big one was because on Wednesday I had a recording session. The featured Image is from the session. Basically when I start auditioning for companies they require an application with a recording to prescreen before they invite you for a live audition. Basically this recording was what this whole year was leading up to.

Screen Shot 2017-04-27 at 8.30.12 PM

Safe to say I was super excited and nervous all at the same time. For an opera singer, though we are getting younger and younger (another discussion for another time), I am young. I do not feel like my voice has completely matured yet, nor do I feel like the technique I have learned from Jane has completely settled in. I do not feel like a completely polished artist, my acting sometimes can leave a lot to be desired, and yet I feel ready for this next step. Remember my post about the fear of striking out? Well you can read that next because this is my new motto. Meet and accept yourself where you are at. Be proud of the hard work you put into yourself and let it motivate you to continue on your path. Do not let fear of failure or other people’s judgements hinder your joy and desire to do what you love. Everyone is a work in progress. The only way to progress is to stand firmly on the step you are on, that way your leap to the next will be strong, confident and graceful.

I will post the videos when I get the edited versions back! Stay tuned!

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 6.31.04 PM

 

Leave a Reply

